Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
Los Angeles
Kings
27-16-5
San Jose
Sharks
25-16-7
SO
43 SOG
35 SOG
1st2nd3rdOTsoT
LAK ()
SJS ()
  • Preview
  • Watch
  • Ice Tracker
  • Boxscore
  • Recap
  • photos (17)
game preview

Sharks Host Kings in Potential Playoff Preview

Wednesday, 08.06.2014 / 1:50 AM

NHL.com

Share with your Friends


Sharks Host Kings in Potential Playoff Preview
Los Angeles Kings vs. San Jose Sharks
Stats
42 GP 42
24 W 22
14 L 13
4 OT 7
52 P 51
0.619 P% 0.607
2.81 G/G 2.36
2.40 GA/G 2.33
20.0 PP% 19.5
82.3 PK% 86.6
30.0 S/G 31.7
24.5 SA/G 28.9
51.7 FO% 53.8
Date Vis/Home Final
Mar 16, 2013 SJS@LAK LAK, 5 - 2
Mar 14, 2013 LAK@SJS SJS, 4 - 3

KINGS (24-14-4) at SHARKS (22-13-7)


TV: NBCSN, KCOP-13, CSN-CA

Last 10: Los Angeles 6-2-2; San Jose 6-2-2

Season series: This is the third of four meetings. The teams faced each other twice in a three-day span in March, with each club earning a victory.

Big story: One point separates the Los Angeles Kings and San Jose Sharks as they battle for the No. 4 seed in the Western Conference, which guarantees home-ice advantage in the opening round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs. San Jose, which currently resides in fifth, stayed two points ahead of the Minnesota Wild with Monday's 4-0 road win against the Phoenix Coyotes.

Team Scope:

Kings: Los Angeles is coming off back-to-back victories, as the defending Stanley Cup champs made it two in a row with Saturday's 2-1 win against the Pacific Division leading Anaheim Ducks at Staples Center. Drew Doughty had a goal and an assist for the Kings, while Jonathan Quick made 19 saves.

"I liked our team," Kings coach Darryl Sutter said "We just finished seven of 11 on the road, and the White House [visit], and managed to still win our home games while we were doing it. Without having one off anywhere there, with all that traveling, I think all of our guys did a good job."

Sharks: San Jose bounced back nicely from Saturday's 2-1 loss to the Dallas Stars by cruising past a Phoenix club that was desperate for points. Antti Niemi stopped all 35 shots he faced for his fourth shutout of the season, while Tommy Wingels had a goal and an assist.

"We've got a big game tomorrow night we're all looking forward to and it was good to get this one first," said center Logan Couture, who had the first of San Jose's three second-period goals. "We had a good second period. We got pucks behind them and when we roll over our four lines we're a tough team to beat."

Who's hot: Doughty has goals in four of his past five games for Los Angeles. Two of those tallies have come via the power play. … Niemi has allowed two or fewer goals in three straight starts.

2012-2013 season series
DateScoreW. Goal
Apr 27 '13SJS 2 at LAK 3J. Williams
Apr 16 '13LAK 2 at SJS 3 - SOR. Torres
Mar 16 '13SJS 2 at LAK 5J. Stoll
Mar 14 '13LAK 3 at SJS 4L. Couture
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
A. Kopitar42102838+131601
J. Williams43102030+142012
J. Carter4324529+01487
M. Richards43111829-54063
D. Brown43161127+62071
S. Voynov4351924+81412
D. Doughty4351520+33220
J. Stoll4371017+42413
J. Muzzin407916+143531
T. Lewis435813+81902
D. Penner2921012+01600
K. Clifford434711-14900
R. Scuderi4311011-4400
D. King424610+01100
C. Fraser33257-42500
J. Nolan39235-74400
T. Toffoli8235+3210
A. Martinez27145-21000
S. Gagne11055+2200
D. Drewiske20134+31410
R. Regehr36044-32100
K. Ellerby43033+25200
B. Richardson11112-2800
M. Greene1011-1400
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
J. Quick3315-12-4787802.48.900
J. Bernier139-2-1222811.86.922
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
J. Thornton4373138+52421
L. Couture43171330+2463
P. Marleau43171128-62463
J. Pavelski43131326+21045
D. Boyle4171320+22750
B. Burns258917-21820
R. Torres3451015+11700
T. Wingels375813-72600
M. Havlat365813+33011
S. Gomez3621113-91000
T. Galiardi314812+11410
R. Clowe2801111-47900
M. Irwin336410-3640
M. Vlasic43347+12700
B. Stuart43055+32300
J. Braun36055-6600
J. Sheppard30134-81201
A. Burish41123-62300
D. Murray29033-82600
T. Kennedy12202-3201
A. Desjardins37112-55900
M. Handzus28112-91200
J. Demers21112-41000
M. Tennyson3022+1000
S. Hannan30011-102000
M. Pelech2000+0700
B. Kearns1000+0000
F. McLaren1000+0000
N. Petrecki1000+0000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
A. Niemi3922-10-68311172.12.926
T. Greiss51-3-0111212.64.909
A. Stalock20-0-12132.86.846