Image Map

Vezina Award Winner to be Revealed Saturday

Friday, 06.14.2013 / 10:25 AM PT / News
Share with your Friends

Vezina Award Winner to be Revealed Saturday
NHL set to reveal postseason award winners leading up to Game 2.

CHICAGO -- As the Chicago Blackhawks and Boston Bruins try to rehydrate, recover and gather their emotions after their marathon Game 1 in the Stanley Cup Final, the hockey world will be allowed the opportunity to quickly swing its attention to a different set of Hall of Fame hardware that is shined up and ready to be handed out.

All 13 of the NHL postseason awards will be distributed before the opening faceoff in Game 2 of the Stanley Cup Final on Saturday at United Center (8 p.m. ET; NBCSN, CBC, RDS).

The winners of the Bill Masterton Memorial, Frank J. Selke, King Clancy and Lady Byng trophies, the Jack Adams Award, the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award, the NHL Foundation Player Award and the NHL General Manager of the Year Award will be revealed Friday beginning at 5 p.m. ET on NHL Network in the United States and Canada. The program will be streamed live online at

Beginning at 7 p.m. ET Saturday, NBC Sports Network and CBC will join forces to co-host a live pregame television special in which the winners of the Hart Memorial, Calder Memorial, James Norris Memorial and Vezina trophies, along with the Ted Lindsay Award, will be revealed. The show can be seen on NBCSN in the United States and CBC in Canada.

The biggest question heading into awards season is who will win the Hart Trophy as the NHL's most valuable player for the 2012-13 season? The finalists are Pittsburgh Penguins captain Sidney Crosby, Washington Capitals captain Alex Ovechkin and New York Islanders center John Tavares.

Crosby, who won the Hart Trophy in 2007, looked like he was going to be a runaway winner three-quarters of the way into the 48-game season, but he missed the final 12 games due to a jaw injury. He still finished tied with Ovechkin for third in the NHL with 56 points on 15 goals and 41 assists in 36 games.

Ovechkin looked like he had no chance at any postseason honors a third of the way through the season, but he rediscovered his MVP form and put up 46 points, including 21 goals, over his final 32 games to help the Capitals win the Southeast Division. He won the Rocket Richard Trophy with 32 goals and is in line to win the Hart Trophy for the third time in his career. He won in 2008 and 2009.

Tavares, a first-time finalist for the Hart Trophy, led the Islanders into the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the first time since 2007 with 47 points on 28 goals and 19 assists.

Crosby and Ovechkin join Art Ross Trophy (awarded to the League's leading scorer) winner Martin St. Louis (60 points) as finalists for the Ted Lindsay Award, which goes to the most outstanding player as voted on by the players. St. Louis could also win the Lady Byng Trophy, which is awarded to the player who best demonstrates sportsmanship and gentlemanly play, for the third time in his career. He's up against second-time finalist Matt Moulson of the Islanders and first-time finalist Patrick Kane of the Blackhawks.

In addition, Crosby is up for the Masterton Award for perseverance and dedication to hockey. The other finalists are Minnesota Wild goalie Josh Harding and Bruins defenseman Adam McQuaid.

New York Rangers goalie Henrik Lundqvist is in line to win the Vezina Trophy as the League's top goaltender for a second straight season. First-time finalists Sergei Bobrovsky of the Columbus Blue Jackets and Antti Niemi of the San Jose Sharks are his competition. Bobrovsky nearly led the Blue Jackets to the playoffs with a 2.00 goals-against average and .932 save percentage.

There will be a first-time winner of the Norris Trophy, awarded to the League's top defenseman. P.K. Subban (Montreal Canadiens), Ryan Suter (Minnesota Wild) and Kris Letang (Pittsburgh Penguins) are first-time finalists.

The three finalists for the Calder Trophy as the League's best rookie would make up one heck of a line if they were on the same team. It would be Florida Panthers center Jonathan Huberdeau in the middle of Blackhawks left wing Brandon Saad and Canadiens right wing Brendan Gallagher.

Huberdeau's 31 points tied him with Edmonton Oilers forward Nail Yakupov for most among rookies this season. Gallagher had 28 points, and Saad had 27 playing mostly on a line with Jonathan Toews and Marian Hossa.

Boston Bruins center Patrice Bergeron is in line to win the Selke Trophy for the second straight season, but he'll need more votes than three-time winner Pavel Datsyuk of the Detroit Red Wings and Toews, who is a finalist for the second time in his career.

Toews is also a finalist for the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award along with Los Angeles Kings captain Dustin Brown and Ottawa Senators captain Daniel Alfredsson.

Bruce Boudreau (Anaheim Ducks) and Joel Quenneville (Chicago) hope to join the company of Scotty Bowman, Pat Quinn, Jacques Lemaire and Pat Burns as coaches who have won the Jack Adams Award with two franchises. Boudreau won in 2008 as the coach in Washington, and Quenneville won in 2000 as the coach of the St. Louis Blues.

Senators coach Paul MacLean is also a finalist -- and possibly the favorite -- for the Jack Adams Award.

The League will be handing out the NHL GM of the Year Award for the fourth time, and there will be a first-time winner among Bob Murray (Anaheim), Marc Bergevin (Montreal) and Ray Shero (Pittsburgh). All are first-time finalists, and Bergevin is coming off his first season as a general manager in the NHL.

Follow Dan Rosen on Twitter at: @drosennhl

Author: Dan Rosen | Senior Writer




1 x - ANA 77 48 22 7 225 215 103
2 x - NSH 76 47 21 8 218 183 102
3 STL 75 46 22 7 228 186 99
4 MIN 76 44 25 7 219 186 95
5 CHI 74 44 24 6 209 172 94
6 VAN 75 43 27 5 215 203 91
7 WPG 75 39 24 12 212 197 90
8 LAK 75 37 24 14 200 188 88
9 CGY 75 40 28 7 219 199 87
10 DAL 76 37 29 10 236 243 84
11 SJS 75 37 30 8 210 212 82
12 COL 75 35 28 12 205 209 82
13 EDM 75 22 40 13 181 254 57
14 ARI 76 23 45 8 160 252 54


J. Pavelski 75 36 31 10 67
J. Thornton 71 14 48 -4 62
L. Couture 75 24 37 -4 61
B. Burns 75 16 39 -5 55
P. Marleau 75 17 35 -17 52
T. Wingels 68 15 20 -5 35
T. Hertl 75 12 17 -2 29
M. Nieto 65 8 16 -11 24
M. Vlasic 70 9 14 12 23
M. Karlsson 46 13 9 -2 22
A. Stalock 7 7 1 .902 2.60
A. Niemi 29 22 7 .914 2.62
Image Map